The day that changed my life forever… (Trigger warning)

This is not a day that I want to be writing about but it is something that I must write about because it is part of our story.

April 15,2016 at 5:40am my cell phone rang. My blood ran cold as I looked and saw the caller ID was my mom and dads home number. On the other end of phone was my dad through his tears and his fears, he told me that my mom was gone. The ambulance had taken her to the hospital, it did not look good. I do not remember much of the next 15-20 minutes except cowboy holding me as I sobbed into his shoulder, and we prepared to make the 30 minute drive to the hospital. During this time I called the appropriate people, my step sister, my sister, and I do not remember calling but I called my Pastor. Cowboy told his dad, cowboy senior and he stayed with our two boys and got them off to school so Cowboy and I could deal with everything else happening.

Once at the hospital my worst fears were realized as I walked into Trauma Room 1, looking around I saw tears, and sadness. I saw my mom, but really it was not her just the shell that God created during her stay here on earth. My heart was ripped out of my chest more on that day then any other day in my life. I saw my dad say goodbye to his best friend. (damn onion cutting ninjas) The next couple days were a blur, setting up funeral arrangements and preparing to say good bye to the greatest mother ever. I had the honor of writing and reading my mom’s eulogy and it was very soothing to my soul, even though it was the hardest thing to write.

My mom was my best friend, my mentor, I only hope that I will be able to make her proud.

I was able to honor her again at our wedding on May 14, 2016 29 days after she arrived in Heaven.

I miss you mom more then you could ever know…

Leave a Reply

