Veterans Day 2015

Well it is that time of year again the holidays. It starts with Halloween, Thanksgiving, Christmas right? At least for most people that is how it goes, alot of people and business do not understand the impact of one holiday that they forget. Veterans Day November 11 every year. While there are some businesses that offer great incentives and discounts for veterans on veterans day it is not as highly visible as most holidays. To veterans it is so important, this day to veterans is a day to remember our brothers and sisters in green. To remember the past the present and to look forward to the future soldiers. For those soldiers who have seen combat it is often a very hard day full of triggers and memories remembering the soldiers who did not come home. With the new era of more recent conflicts in Iraq, Afghanistan people tend to forget about the earlier veterans those who fought in Vietnam, Korea, WW2 to name a few. Those soldiers are veterans as well, they are a lost generation of soldier.

Over the weekend, I had the privilege and honor to perform a Flag Folding Ceremony for my old church. I was honored to have the chance to share this ceremony for the 3rd time with our church. Preparing my uniform and putting it brings a sense of pride something I only feel when I put on the uniform.

My niece did the video taping and she flipped the camera!

It seems as though we speed through each year always saying I cant believe it is Christmas again! Slow down and take a minute and remember all of the blessings you have in your life. For me personally I am blessed to have wonderful people in my life. Cowboy is such a blessing to me, he is my rock. I love him beyond words. Junior oh how I love that little boy! Everyday he challenges me to be better. He may be small but he is mighty! I am blessed with a brother/sisterhood bond that is unbreakable I love my fellow soldiers.

Tomorrow as you are out and about I challenge you to pay it forward to the men and women who have served our country proudly.

Leave a Reply

